Did you know that Joni Mitchell who wrote the song Woodstock was never at the event?  Nope, her agent double booked her and she couldn’t attend.  So she wrote the song after being flooded by emotion while watching the footage on television.  She said her bird’s eye advantage was probably the reason the song was so powerful.

I came upon a child of God
He was walking along the road
And I asked him, where are you going
And this he told me…

Nearly 50 years later, nearly 100 years since our right to vote, and only 3 since my right to marry, we are headed to our first Women’s March at the state capitol.

I’m going on down to Yasgur’s farm
I’m going to join in a rock ‘n’ roll band
I’m going to camp out on the land
I’m gonna try and get my soul free

I’m a fan of Celebrity Apprentice.  I know, I know just the memory of ole Mao Tse-Orangatung  in the board room is enough to make you puke in your mouth a little.  But the creative challenges mixed with real business excites me and the social/interpersonal element is the real entertainment.  It’s Survivor in the concrete jungle.  Can you rise to the top while sending one “friend” after another to their death?

Then can I walk beside you
I have come here to lose the smog
And I feel to be a cog in something turning

Anyway in the last episode Schwarzenegger (The Governor) told a little story about how Lincoln was famous for bringing his opponents into the White House when he needed to make a big decision.  He felt his convictions became stronger when he was forced to look at all sides of things.

Well maybe it is just the time of year
Or maybe it’s the time of man

And then today after engaging with a teabagger acquaintance of mine I stumbled upon some stats about backlash.  We’ve most recently heard the term white lash that is credited with forming the tea party and neocon/alt right/neo-Nazi movement.  He was spouting off about the outrage and how REAL America’s voices were finally going to be heard!

I don’t know who l am
But ya know life is for learning

I found out that historically whenever there is a majority rule leaning too far to one side and making unpopular decisions there is a backlash of people that come out of the woodwork.  So those we know are driving the Conservative party, the very rich, very patriarchal Christian right  went out and shook the sticks and out they came.  “I’m not a racist but I hate Obama.”  Why?  “I don’t know.”  Or insert some sound bite they heard on hate radio or Fox News.  I thought, what an amazing country this has been going on FOREVER.  It is exactly how change happens and it is exactly why we’re the greatest country in the world.  It’s like a car stuck in the snow rocking back and forth in a rut and then friends come to push you forward, *cough or backward.

We are stardust
We are golden
And we’ve got to get ourselves
Back to the garden

So yeah, if you can remember those early Tea Party images of a crowd of white men dressed as Minutemen or Paul Revere and holding a copy of the constitution in their fist, imagine their faces when they see a sea of women taking to the streets of every city on Saturday. These are not going to be the nicely tucked up Republican women who agree they have their place and it is quietly beside their man.  These are educated, emancipated, independent, fierce mothers, grandmothers and daughters.

By the time we got to Woodstock
We were half a million strong
And everywhere there was song and celebration

These women have wiped your ass, your snot, your dishes, your tears and probably your bad credit score.  They’re not pissed that we’re not following the constitution OR the bible to the letter.  They’re pissed because you’re coming after them and worse, their children.  God help you indeed.  Go ahead, try some of that knuckle dragging, chest pounding discourse on them.  They’ve seen it, raised it, fucked it, worked for it and watched it join the ranks of those that seek to keep them down.

And I dreamed I saw the bombers
Riding shotgun in the sky
And they were turning into butterflies
Above our nation

These women have dealt with Trump their whole life, at home, at school, at parties, on dates and most certainly in the board room.  In four years this prick is gonna get fired.  In the next decade this car is gonna get rocked, FORWARD.  And in another hundred years we just may get ourselves back to the Garden.

We are stardust
Billion-year-old carbon
We are golden
Caught in the devil’s bargain
And we’ve got to get ourselves
Back to the garden

 

