Facebook, it’s over.  I wish I could say it was me, not you, but the truth is that it was both of us.  You see, I’m very disappointed in you.  I guess I put too much faith in you, much more that you deserved. I suppose that is on me, not you.  I thought that all those informative articles that I posted, all of those funny memes that I found, all of that over sharing of personal information would have some effect on people. Boy, was I wrong.

You see, in my deep, dark, overwhelming depression and disappointment in the human race after ‘merica voted for the orange baboon reality tv star to lead the free world, in my search for what the hell was wrong with people to have so much stupidity, racism, misogyny, homophobia and xenophobia,  I came to a surprising conclusion.  After much looking outward in search for what was wrong with the 75% of the voters in this little town of mine that voted against their own interest for a billionaire who pretends to be ‘for the little guy’, I started looking back at myself.  What did I do to stop the spread of misinformation and the ‘fake news’ that spread like republican wildfire? What DID I do?   That was when it hit me like a load of Faux News bullshit falling out of the penthouse in Trump Tower.

I shared stuff on Facebook.

Let that sink in for a moment.  Now I have to live with that for four long years.

So, Facebook, it’s over. I have to stretch my wings and actually do something worthwhile with my time, energy and outrage.  Instead of complaining about congress, I’m calling and writing to actual congressmen. Instead of hoping that ‘someone’ will do something, I’m going to actually do something.  I know, crazy talk here, but I think I will actually be better off without you, but you are going to miss me.

 

 

 

