Just watched the new Star Wars movie “Rogue One” today, December 27, 2016.  The last word that is spoken in the movie, or at least the last word that I heard, was Princess Leia who said “hope”.  It was like being kicked in the gut. Hard.  The tears, more sobbing beside me from my daughter, it was just too much.

Too much 2016, you asshole of a year, you hateful, horribly hopeless year.  Fuck you 2016.

This year can kiss my ass.  This year needs an exorcism.  The demons have taken over.

Not enough that this is the year that I have lost faith in humans for electing the worst candidate in the history of the world, except for Hitler maybe, as president.  No, this year also has to be the year that Prince,  David Bowie, Gene Wilder, Florence Henderson, George Micheal, to name a few,  and now Carrie Fisher have left us.

Hope.  That beautiful face of Princess Leia as she turned toward the camera and said “Hope”.  I’m trying to hang on to that moment.

Thank you, Carrie Fisher, and Godspeed.

